Jump to Content

ACHRA Communique 28 April 2017

28 April 2017

The Australian Council of Human Rights Authorities (ACHRA), which comprises the State, Territory and Federal human rights and discrimination authorities, recently met in Sydney on 27-28 April 2017 to consider a number of issues of common concern and interest.

ACHRA acknowledged the positive contribution of Gillian Triggs, who finishes her term as President in July 2017. We pay tribute to her inspiring leadership, courage, resilience, wisdom and compassion. ACHRA also welcomes two new Commissioners – John Byrne (WA Commissioner for Equal Opportunity) and Sarah Bolt (Tasmanian Anti-Discrimination Commissioner).

The issues discussed were in the areas of gender equality, disability equality, the Optional Protocol Against Torture (OPCAT), multiculturalism, business and human rights, sports human rights and equality, older Australians, indigenous incarceration, and child safe organisations.

The ACHRA heard from Louise Glanville, Deputy CEO, of the National Disability Insurance Agency, Dr Anna Arstein-Kerslake from the University of Melbourne, Aleem Ali, Manager of Welcoming Cities, and Matt Corrigan of the Australian Law Reform Commission.

More information is available in the communique linked below.

Dr Niki Vincent

Commissioner for Equal Opportunity

Related information

Copyright © 1996 - 2015 Equal Opportunity Commission of South Australia. Back to Top